Skip to content
Curtin University


Link to Archived News »

Distinguished Membership and Awards for
CMR's Emeritus Professor Brian O'Connor

AINSE Awards Honorary Fellowship

Brian O'Connor

Emeritus Professor Brian O'Connor

The Australian Institute of Nuclear Science and Engineering (AINSE) is a joint Australian-NZ universities & ANSTO organization devoted to facilitating use of ANSTO facilities by university students and staff. Importantly for AXAA this includes the use neutron scattering/diffraction equipment with the OPAL reactor and, prior to that, HIFAR.

AINSE Honorary Fellowships are awarded by the AINSE Council to individuals for distinguished and dedicated services to the Institute.

Professor Brian O'Connor's 2011 Honorary Fellowship recognises his AINSE leadership (including Council Member from 1990 – 2007; member of Council Executive from 2003 – 2007 and AINSE President in 2007; and member of Neutron Scattering Specialist Committee from 1991 – 2003), as well as his AINSE-related research achievements (which have included authorship of 27 refereed publications, commencing with a neutron diffraction study of NiSO4.6D2O which was one of the early single crystal studies performed with neutrons at the HIFAR research reactor.

Previous awardees include Professor John White of ANU (2009) and Dr Trevor Hicks of Monash University (2007).

Australian X-ray Analytical Association RW Cheary Award for Excellence in X-ray Diffraction Analysis.

National award for developing high-impact, innovative x-ray analysis methods and their take-up by the x-ray analysis community. The award was presented at the AXAA National Conference held in Sydney, February 2011.

International Centre for Diffraction Data 2011 Distinguished Fellow

This year, the Board of Directors recognized Brian O'Connor, Curtin University, Perth, Western Australia as the 2011 Distinguished Fellow. This award is given to a member who has given long and meritorious service to the ICDD.

Over the years, Brian has contributed his expertise to the ICDD, while building a distinguished career within the powder diffraction and crystallographic communities. He has been a member of the ICDD since 1983, and has held several positions in the organization including member of the Board of Directors, Vice Chairman and regional Co-chair for the Indian Ocean Rim. As Co-Chair, Brian actively worked with affiliated groups and associations in Australia, Malaysia and India. He established cooperative relationships between ICDD and groups such as the AXAA – Australian X-ray Analysis Association, IUCr – International Union of Crystallography and the Australian Academy of Science. Additionally, he participated in various ICDD workshops and exhibitions held at these venues as well as others in his region.

With over forty years of experience in both single crystal and powder diffraction studies, Brian has made significant research and development contributions to the scientific community. He is known for his advancements in the expansion of modern X-ray and neutron diffraction analysis, including applications of Rietveld crystallographic metrology for material characterization and development of advanced ceramic materials from Western Australian minerals. Brian has authored more than 200 publications, some of which can be found in the ICDD publications, Advances in X-ray Analysis and the journal Powder Diffraction.

The award presentation is scheduled to take place at the 2012 Annual Meeting of ICDD members.

National Characterisation Council Membership

Brian O'Connor is serving as an Independent Member of the Characterisation Council for the National Collaborative Research Infrastructure Strategy (NCRIS) from 2010 – 2012. The Council's responsibilities include providing expert advisory assistance to the Australian Government, through the Department of Innovation, Industry, Science and Research (DIISR), on the development of Australia's current and future investments in characterisation infrastructure. The four existing facilities which the Council overviews are:

  • Australian Synchrotron
  • National Imaging Facility
  • Australian Microscopy and Microanalysis Research Facility
  • National Deuteration Facility

NCRIS funding has provided $550M of funding for the existing facilities.

Australian Synchrotron Announces NSC Membership

Australian Synchrotron Media Release, Monday 31 May 2010 (pdf)